Ugandan Orphanages and God’s Calling For Your Life

I closed my history text book and sighed. I finally finished school. It had been a long day filled with shark knowledge and Galileo contributions. Now I had free time. What was I to do? I could hear Netflix calling my name, and could see my iPod screen glowing of texts from my best friend. But I felt something. I had to check out the blog I happened upon earlier. So I grab my laptop and type in http://www.therebelution.com. One of the first posts that came up on the home page was titled 1,400 Cards By Valentines Day. Naturally, I was intrigued.

This post led me to http://uniquelyfashionedforhisglory.blogspot.com/ ,  a blog run by a girl who God is using for amazing things. I accepted the offer to make a difference in the lives of imprisoned Ugandan children by making simple cards for them.I sat down at my dinner table with colored card stock and my nicest markers, and put all of my heart into making these homemade cards of hope. They were simple: “God Loves You” was carefully written on the front and the words of the oh-so-extraordinary John 3:16 written on the inside. Everyone who knows me knows that I don’t have a creative bone in my body, but somehow I found six different ways to make those cards personal. (And I plan to keep going!)

I had time to think during that hour of writing and drawing. I’ve been thoroughly praying and learning for over a year, asking God what He wants me to do for Him. I wanted to go to Uganda like this girl that’s birthing brilliant ideas for impacting those people. Why wasn’t anything being laid on my heart like this? The bigger question was “Oh Lord, how can I impact this world for Your Kingdom?”.

What can I do to make a difference?

Does this sound familiar? Like me, you might be pulling out your hair going “WHAT DO I DO?!” You may be praying and praying and don’t feel like God’s calling you to something yet. I don’t know God’s plan for either of us. Here’s the thing…

When God hasn’t opened any doors, I will praise Him in the hallway.

I’ve been in the hallway for over a year, waiting. Waiting for God to open the door and say “This is what you’ve been praying for.” And oh, what an amazing, beautiful, and joyful time that will be. But as I wait, I’m not going to sit and look at my watch, waiting for that door. I’m going to make cards for orphans, sponsor a child through Holt International, and invest time in children ministry. I’m going to look for ways to make a difference in peoples lives, whether its packing a box or two for Operation Christmas Child, or sending a plate of cookies to my elderly neighbor. I’m going to collect my money in a jar and use it when God opens that spectacular door.

Care to join me?

I will not change the world, Jesus will do that. But I can change the world for one person. SO I will keep loving, one person at a time. -Katie Davis.

6 thoughts on “Ugandan Orphanages and God’s Calling For Your Life

  1. Brooklyn! You beautiful, godly girl, you! I will praise Him in the hallways too! So well put.
    Micah 6:8b
    “…the LORD has told you what is good, and this is what he requires of you: to do what is right, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.”

    Like

  2. Brooklyn,
    God has given you an amazing gift. Use your writing to Glorify Him and bless others. Reading this made my heart jump for joy. I had to stop and pray to our Father thanking Him for His glorious blessing and love that He showers us with daily. All to often I forget this in my daily rush.

    Thanks for forcing me to slow down and hear God.

    May God’s grace, mercy, and Spirit rest upon you always.

    Frank Tillotson

    Like

  3. I love your heart for the Lord! This post brought tears to my eyes. Look forward to the day when He fulfills your wildest dreams. And keep doing what you’re doing–praising, serving, loving for the Kingdom’s sake!!

    Like

  4. I found your blog by complete happenstance (am I using that word right?) from Lies Young Women Believe (I found Scattered Journal Pages) and then you commented on a post there so here I am! What a great atmosphere. 😉 Keep it up, praising Him in the hallways.

    Like

Leave a Reply

