5 Things I Want You To Know About Makeup

Makeup is a common thing amongst us humans today. It’s so common that we’ve kinda became blind to what it really is.

It is a hardly identifiable substance that is made by tons of chemical reactions, purchased for high prices by people all over the world so that they may apply it to their fragile epidermis in an attempt to make them into something they believe is better.

It’s weird.

Nobody really thinks about it. Everyone just adopts it as part of life and as a product vital to our wellbeing.

I think makeup is cool; in fact, I wear it myself. However I think that since we use makeup all the time, there are some things we need to keep in mind.

Here are 5 things we need to get straight about makeup:

  1. It’s not a new face. It’s a common misconception that makeup means you’re putting on a brand new face. “I need to go put my face on” is an entirely common thing I hear. Makeup is a substance. It’s most certainly not the face you’ve been given nor should it replace your features that you have. It’s okay to wear eyeshadow to make your blue eyes look a little brighter, or wear concealer to make yourself look slightly more awake. Just don’t treat it as a mask. 🙂
  2. It’s a highlighter. Makeup doesn’t give you beauty, it highlights the beauty you already have. Don’t use it as a paintbrush in hopes of redesigning your beautifully unique features.
  3. It’s okay not to wear it. This culture shames and frowns upon women who choose to not wear makeup. That is one of my least favorite things about something as common as makeup-wearing. Just because you desire to wear makeup doesn’t mean that others need to desire the same thing. If you feel a personal conviction that you shouldn’t wear makeup, keep doin’ your thing. Rock on.
  4. It’s okay to wear it. Wearing makeup isn’t a bad thing. It can be used to accent your beautiful features. That’s okay! It’s an entirely personal choice as to whether someone wants to wear makeup or doesn’t want to. If you like to put on some mascara and eyeliner before leaving the house, go for it. However, if you only want to wear makeup because of society’s stupid pressure, don’t cave in. It really isn’t a big deal.
  5. Don’t rely on it for happiness. If you find happiness in makeup, you’re going down the wrong road. The things of this world will only bring us a temporary happiness that withers away in minutes. Makeup might bring you joy, but only for a brief moment. Recently I bought new lipstick thinking, “This will make me more happy and make me feel more pretty.” And it did, but only for a moment. Soon after that moment, self-consciousness came crawling in. I looked to something besides God for happiness and didn’t find it.
Last but not least, please keep in mind Proverbs 31:30, which says, “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.”
8 thoughts on “5 Things I Want You To Know About Makeup

  1. Amen amen amen! I’ve set up a makeup policy with myself. I can wear it to church, and days when I feel like dressing up (or whenever). However, if it’s worn because I’m not feeling pretty, I don’t let myself wear it at all that day. I usually feel this way after I’ve made myself up so much that it makes me feel like I’m only beautiful because of the cosmetics. So after waiting a few days and letting myself regain confidence in the person God has made me, I let myself highlight my features, instead of reverting to makeup as a “fix-it” for feeling ugly. Thanks for this post and the truths presented here!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I didn’t know you had a blog!
    Great post! I don’t wear makeup, but sometimes I would wish I could wear it to make myself look prettier…
    But now I am glad to be me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

