p a t i e n c e

Twice today, I’ve found myself telling my friends to remain patient.

“Just try to be patient with him. I know it’s tough!”

“Remain patient, and continue to pray.”

I laugh because I always have a habit of telling my friends to do things that I’m not doing.

Sometimes I like to blame my lack of patience on my genetics. I have other family members with the “go, go, go” mindset, and in a case like that it’s really easy to say “well, I don’t have a choice. My mentality is a restless one.”

But, oh my goodness, that’s a lie.

See, the fruit of the spirit are: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.

If these are all things that we aren’t capable of doing, then why are we called to do them in the first place?

Regardless of what kind of personality you have, patience is something you’re capable of.

I won’t lie, it takes so much effort and work. It means taking every thought captive (as suggested in 2 Corinthians 10:5), and actually trying to develop the quality. Most importantly, praying for patience is the most beneficial thing you can do.

Another way I justify my lack of patience is by saying, “well, my circumstances are difficult. These people are annoying me, and they surely don’t deserve my patience.”

Aha. Once again, that’s a lie.

See, God doesn’t ask us to be filled with love, joy, peace, patience, ect. only when it’s easy or when others deserve it. These qualities are supposed to be displayed through the sunshine and the hurricane.

The honest truth is, we cannot justify a lack of patience, and to be impatient is to go against what God asks of us.

It’s very tempting to not listen to what God has to say about patience. But I promise you, ignoring what He calls you to do will not lead to a fulfilled, lovely life.

It will lead to a bitter, dull one.

 

 

2 thoughts on “p a t i e n c e

Leave a Reply

