Love Is Never Wasted

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Election day is coming soon.

Raise your hand if you’re super excited!!

*stares out into the crowd and sees very few hands raised*

Yeah, I get it. This election season has been very annoying and stressful, to say the least.

I planned on staying out of ALL of it, then mom told me I’d be taking a politics/government class.

In my mind, I was sarcastically screaming, “OH THAT’S JUST GREAT.” I was dreading class. Being bogged down with opinions on Hillary, Trump, and our government, didn’t appear on my list of things I’d like to do.

But something that I find pretty cool is that politics class has been pretty chill. My teacher only talks about facts, and the students don’t debate with each other. (Although, some of them ask too many questions.. but whatever.)

I’m not going to go over all of the facts that I’ve learned about Trump or Hillary. I’m not gonna throw my opinions in your face, because America is doing enough of that.

But I want to tell you something encouraging that my government teacher told me:

Love is never wasted.

Look, some say this country is going down the drain. I’ll agree that America has, in many ways, become different than what our Founding Fathers created it to be.

It can become very, very discouraging. We tend to feel like we can’t make a difference. We think that our kindness and love evaporates into thin air and does nothing.

But God, the Creator of love, would never let such a great thing go to waste. He asks us to show love. He wants us to speak lovingly, regardless of what someone is doing or saying.

When you show love to others and try to love the world around you, it sometimes looks like it’s not doing anything. However, it isn’t something that we can always see the benefits of.

During the election season, some people have been treating other people horribly. Few seem to recognize that offending others and being rude to them will not do anything except turn hearts into bitter chaos.

Being a jerk does not change someone’s heart.

So I plead with you, just show love. Just be kind. If you are to correct someone, please do it peacefully. If they react poorly to it, that’s on them. But you can step away from it knowing what you did was right.

Some say that if you’re not firm, you wont get the point across. And I will say that, yes, being firm when you stand up for what you believe in is important. But there’s a fine between standing up for what you believe in, and being rude.

Don’t cross the line, folks. Show love. It’s not wasted, I promise.

3 thoughts on “Love Is Never Wasted

  1. Brooklyn,

    You are a lot smarter than most adults I know! I love your insight and thoroughly enjoyed reading your post šŸ’œ

    Amy (your moms oldest friend) šŸ˜Š

    Like

Leave a Reply

