When People Leave

It’s hard when people leave our lives.

Sometimes, someone we love dies, and a little piece of us dies with them.

Sometimes, someone we care about leaves, and they ruin our emotions.

It’s hard to lose someone. It really is.

I’ve never had someone I love die (praise God), but I’ve seen the effects that it has on people. It’s a brutal, tough thing to go through.

I have had someone I care about decide to quit being part of my family. A couple years ago, a family member went through a divorce, and the one that wasn’t directly related to my family shut us out completely. Thinking about the fact that this person has moved on and forgotten about my family hurts me to the core. I think about how much I love this relative and long for them to just come back and love my family again. I think that they do still love us at least a little bit, but they just cant be with us any more.

This reality is so incredibly gut-wrenching. It’s left my pillow saturated in tears and it has hurt many members of my growing family.

I’m not harsh or bitter towards this person. Not at all. However I am sad, and I have went through the pain of feeling rejected.

When people leave, the world doesn’t feel right. We start to question things and wonder why God allowed them to leave. Isn’t it funny that some of us deny God’s existence, then are quick to blame Him when things go wrong?

The truth is, it isn’t always easy to turn to God and ask for comfort. We’re physical humans. We want to be wrapped in hugs when we’re hurting and kissed on the forehead when our hearts ache. Relying on someone who doesn’t do that can be a challenge.

But God, our mighty, beautiful God, tells us this in Matthew 11:28-30:

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

“Come to me” is a personal invitation from Jesus to trust him fully.

What Satan intends for evil, God intends for good. That’s something hard to understand. But once we get past the pain and the lack of understanding, we’re able to see that it’s really true.

Both my mom and dad had parents divorce when my parents were kids. At that time, nobody understood how what happened could be used for good.

But my entire existence has came because of those two divorces.

After my dad’s parents divorced, he moved to Florida for a year, then came back to Ohio and lived in a different town than the one he grew up in. At a high school in this town, he met my mom, who lived there because of her parents divorce. They fell in love, got married, and here I am.

If my grandparents never divorced, dad and mom would’ve never met each other. Papaw would’ve never married my dad’s step mom, and I’d be missing a lot of aunts and uncles and cousins that came with that.

What Satan intended for evil, God shaped into something  insanely beautiful.

There are many things happening in my life that are hard to look at and think, “this is gonna be something amazing.” I just have to push through it and know that God is going to use it for something good.

Sometimes we can’t see the good in what’s happening. But God is using it for something, and that’s something hopeful to hold onto.

 

 

One thought on “When People Leave

  1. I’m sorry for the pain you are facing from divorce and how it’s separating your family from someone who was like family to you. Very cool how God can use even the worst circumstances into something for our eventual good. Romans 8:28 rings true. I pray God continues to strengthen you and give you more wisdoms to continue sharing truth with others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

