Here’s Why I’m Not Currently Dating

When I was a young girl, I was under the impression that I would have it all by age 16.

A car, a boyfriend, and a job were obviously going to be the center of my teenage life.

Now I’m 17 year old, and I am pleased to inform you that I don’t have a job. I have a car, but I don’t have my license. And there isn’t an eligible bachelor as far as the eye can see.

I’ve decided that I’m not letting the lack of these things disappoint me. I still have fun. I still love my life. I’m still happy.

No matter how happy I may seem, I get this question often: why aren’t you dating anyone?

Well, I don’t have anyone to date. Basically.

But even if I did, I wouldn’t be dating them.

The reason why is because I, personally, feel that I need to grow in my walk with God and learn how to be a better person before I throw a relationship into the mix.

I currently have quite a few friendships to manage, plus I have a family that I am trying to serve and grow closer to.

I feel like maintaining a dating relationship on top of that is, well, not gonna work well for me.

I belong to a wonderful God. He has my whole life planned out, which I think is pretty cool. If God isn’t currently bringing me the man He wants me to marry, why would I go out and try to pick a random guy to have a momentary relationship with?

Now, I’d like to add that I don’t think all high school dating relationships are bad.ย  I have met a few teenage couples who are wise beyond their years and deeply rooted in God. I’ve seen a few teenage relationships thrive. I believe that God can still use teenagers to reflect Him in their dating relationships! (I wrote a separate post on this topic. You can check it outย here.)

However, I believe that most relationships that teenagers pursue are very spur-of-the-moment, do-what-feels-good-now-and-don’t-consider-the-consequences relationships. That’s just the culture we live in.

But personally, I want to be counter-cultural. I don’t really want to do what the world is expecting of me. I want to do what God expects of me.

And what He expects of me is to be honoring in my relationships.

So if I were jump into a relationship right now, I feel like it wouldn’t honor God. That’s it. There’s no real explanation other than that.

I don’t really know how to end this post. I feel kinda awkward about it. Like, I just gave a detailed answer to a question that none of you have asked me. I kinda felt like throwing it out there anyways.

If you’re in the same boat that I’m in, and you need encouragement, don’t hesitate to talk to me. I’m happy to share more and attempt to encourage you to keep loving life.

Anyways.

Bye now ๐Ÿ™‚

 

2 thoughts on “Here’s Why I’m Not Currently Dating

Leave a Reply

