No Longer Living in Fear

I’m sure everyone is aware of the bombing that took place last month in Manchester.

I’m not going to get into the details of what happened, mainly because I know I’ll get some of the facts wrong. But I can sit here with utter confidence and tell you that what happened was nothing short of devastating.

Since it took place at a concert, I feel like it hits me harder than other terrorist attacks do.

I consider myself a concert enthusiast because when I go to concerts, I feel safe and happy. Don’t get me wrong, my joy and happiness lies in the Son. It will forever. But He has given me concerts and music to be a fun outlet for creativity and fun.

So to hear that people went to see their favorite artist and were killed in the process makes me feel sick.

What if it was me at a concert for my favorite artist? What if I go to a concert this summer expecting a great time, but instead I’m killed? What if what if what if?

And these thoughts can tempt me to live out of fear for the unknown.

But I’m definitely not scared, because I have Jesus.

Yah see, the fact that I have Jesus means that fear doesn’t need to get to my heart. It doesn’t have any hold on me.

And it shouldn’t. Proverbs 3:25-26 says, “Don’t fear sudden danger or the ruin of the wicked when it comes; for the Lord will be your confidence, and will keep your foot from a snare.”

This next week, I’m going to be in Columbus 3 times for twenty one pilots shows. I’m going to be in arenas and venues. My heart is so tempted to be afraid, but I’m not.

Since I have Jesus, I don’t need to fear sudden danger or death. When I die, I get to go spend eternity with him in heaven. I’m not scared!!

I don’t know when God is gonna take me home. It could be tomorrow or next month or 66 years from now. As much as I’d like to stay here a long time, I don’t know how long that’ll actually be. So with the time I have here, I’m going to love and serve and dance and hug and laugh and encourage.

Jesus has got me. I trust that his plan is so stinkin good for me, and I have decided not to live in fear or worry.

Have you?


Leave a comment